At Modern Luxury, connection and community define who we are. We use cookies to improve the Modern Luxury experience - to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also may share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. We take your privacy seriously and want you to be aware that we have recently made changes to our Privacy Policy, which can be found here.


Walk This Way

| June 28, 2011 | Parties National

The Party: The School of the Art Institute of Chicago’s 77th annual fashion show, The Walk 2011, presented by Swarovski, was held under the tents of Millennium Park. Fashion Powerhouses: Sally Singer, editor of T: The New York Times Style Magazine, presented Ikram Goldman­—who’s propelled many little-known designers to stardom (like Thakoon and Jason Wu) due to her renowned Gold Coast boutique—with the SAIC Legend of Fashion Award, just a few days before her 10th anniversary bash. Emcees Karen Jordan and Christian Farr and event chairs Marilyn Fields and Greg Cameron, along with co-chairs Denise Gardner and Kate Neisser, welcomed designers including Wu, sisters Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte and Jenna Lyons, J.Crew executive creative director, to the stunning showcase of SAIC’s top young talent. Also sitting front row were notables Neal Zucker, Amy Tara Koch, Julie Latsko, Desirée Rogers, and Linda Johnson Rice, who presented the $25,000 Eunice W. Johnson Fellowship to graduating senior Liz Patelski. Other awards included internships with J.Crew and Proenza Schouler in NYC and the Swarovski Scholarship: one year of full tuition. The Moment: While accepting the SAIC award, Goldman teared up while thanking her mentor, the late Joan Weinstein of the Oak Street boutique Ultimo.

Photos by Robert F. Carl and Très Awesome


Photography by: